3 Comments

Social Media Photography Demand

BE IN SOCIAL-MEDIA DEMAND

I specialize in High School senior photography, so my marketing advice will often lead to examples of success we’ve had in this aspect of our industry, but many of the concepts are universal. Social Media is certainly a High School Senior and Children Photography game. High School seniors are addicted to social media. Everyone wants to know what everyone is doing right this second. Are you embracing social media?

Ignore it at your own peril, reject it at your own retirement. We work in the vanity business and social media is ALL about vanity. It’s all about what ‘I’ am doing, how ‘I’ look, who ‘I’ am talking to.

Social Media is always in need of imagery. Every comment, click, status update, tweet, etc….they all need a picture. YOur clients WANT the best possible picture to represent their social persona.

IF YOU ARE IN ANY WAY RESTRICTING YOUR CLIENTS FROM UTILIZING THEIR PICTURES, YOU ARE INFURIATING THEM AND SLOWLY KILLING YOUR BUSINESS

Let’s say I am a senior. I use facebook 5 hours a day and twitter 2 hours a day. My world is online. When I go into my world, I MUST look my best.

So I go to your studio because you provide the ‘best’ image. I make a purchase and when I go home and decide I want Your Pictures to be on facebook and twitter. So I scan the picture, as best  I can (80% quality is fine by me), crop out the copyright logo, then I make it my ‘avatar’ on the two social networks. I get excited for the world to see it so I go on a facebook comment binge,. I comment on everyone’s pictures, wall posts, and status updates. My New Picture is EVERYWHERE.

I’m sure you’re thinking it’s either

a)    Great for my studio-pictures out there and I guarantee her friends ask her where she got the picture and I’ll get that ‘word of mouth’ marketing kickstarted. (WRONG: Friends don’t ask. If they don’t see the logo, they don’t care.  It’s the least effective form of ‘word of mouth’ marketing you’ll get this year.)

or

b)    Illegal-I’ll Sue.

(UNLIKELY: you aren’t going to sue.  We both know that suing a 17 year old for copyright is nothing more than desperate attempt to salvage minor damages, DESTROY’s the company’s image, and quite frankly a process that will have you blind on paperwork in no time.)

SOLUTION: Find a way to control your work in social media in a manner that benefits you and your clients. Create a scenario where every client gets 1 or 2 Social Media images with a purchase. Create a consistent logo that is constant on every client order. (re:branding) Be the facebook friendly photographer, obsessed with creating high quality images and making your clients look their best on social networks.

 

3 comments on “Social Media Photography Demand

  1. Yes! Finally someone writes about article marketing.

  2. It’s actually very complicated in this busy life to listen news on TV, therefore I just use internet for that purpose, and take the most recent news.

  3. Do you have a spam issue on this website; I also am a blogger, and I was curious about your situation;
    many of us have created some nice methods and we are looking to exchange strategies with
    others, please shoot me an email if interested.

Leave a Reply

